Sonata for violin and harpsichord in c minor, BWV 1017

About the piece:

The Sonata in C minor, BWV 1017, is the fourth of a set of six that Bach composed for violin and harpsichord. The structure is that of the Italian sonata da chiesa, or church sonata in 4 movements, slow-fast-slow-fast. In the slow movements of this Sonata Bach gives the violin two of his great cantilenas, long lines spun out over broken chords in the right hand of the keyboard. The first is a Siciliano and one of Bach’s most famous melodies; the second a poised reflection in the relative major mode that serves as a prelude to the finale. The fast movements are basically abstract dances, in which the violin and keyboard swap material back and forth in buoyant counterpoint.



The original violin version


Stefan Temmingh: J. S. Bach – Siciliano from violin sonata BWV 1017

Rachel Podger, baroque violin, Trevor Pinnock, harpsichord

Fabio Biondi – baroque violin, Rinaldo Alessandrini – harpsichord


Skip to content